top of page

Adar Mini-Retreat

With Rabbi Daniel Silverstein - 3 hours of online meditative practice, learning, and sharing

  • Starts Feb 22
  • Online

Available spots


What is this course?

As we celebrate the new moon of Adar, we will gather together to learn about the spiritual opportunities and challenges of the month, to begin to practice with them, and to share our insights on this important new beginning. In much of the Northern Hemisphere, Adar is the key turning point between Winter and Spring. The full blooming and liberation of Nisan and Pesach are fast approaching, and this month invites us to prepare for them in surprising and radical ways. On the full moon of the month, we celebrate the joyful and chaotic festival of Purim. Purim may appear at first glance to be a child-centered festival devoid of spiritual depth, but, as we will explore together, our sages and mystics view it as a crucial lynchpin in our entire tradition and in the spiritual journey of our calendar. According to Sefer Yetzirah (our oldest mystical text), a key area for us to heal this month is our relationship with laughter. Together, we will learn about and practice with this and some of the other profound spiritual themes of this month and its festival, including our relationship with joy, not-knowing, and how the apparent chaos of Adar helps to prepare us for the new beginning and liberation of Nisan and Pesach. Together, we will explore some of the key ideas arising from mystical texts for our inner work during this month, and practice bringing these ideas into our bodies and into our lives. Our time together will be spent doing meditative practice, learning and discussing relevant texts, writing (or using whichever means of expression works for us) to process what is arising for us, and sharing some of this, if we feel so moved. Our learning about the themes of the month will prepare us for our meditative practices and processing exercises, which are designed to help us meet ourselves in new ways, and to move forward in our daily lives with new resources. WHEN IS IT? Wednesday, February 22 at 8am Pacific / 11am Eastern / 4pm UK / 6pm Israel, for 3 hours. The mini-retreat will be recorded, and all registrants will be sent the recording afterwards.

bottom of page