***Registration is still open***

Deepening Prayer Practice Group

With R' Daniel Raphael Silverstein (10 sessions)

  • Started Mar 13
  • Online

What is this course?

Did you know that our Siddur, the prayer book, is a beautiful and highly effective roadmap to greater self-awareness, gratitude, empathy, focus, love, joy, forgiveness, resilience, creativity and wholeness? Join R' Daniel Raphael Silverstein and our global community as we experience the prayers of the Morning Service (Shacharit) as invitations into deep and transformative spiritual work. Together, we will do meditative practices which imbue each prayer and section of the service with inner experience and meaning. Our meditative practices will include visualizations, body scans, mindful movement, spiritual writing and drawing, and chanting. This course is designed for those with a prayer practice who are seeking to deepen or revitalize it, and also for those who are new to, or estranged from, the world of our traditional liturgy. Together, we will experience each prayer as a means of healing and building connection with ourselves, others and the Divine. HOW DOES IT WORK? We will meet ten times, for one hour per session. In each session we will experience and process three meditative practices. After each session, all course participants will receive the recording of the session. A WhatsApp group will be set up for course participants for sharing and discussion with the teacher and each other. All texts are provided with clear line-by-line translations, and no prior knowledge or experience with the subject matter is necessary. Over the ten sessions, we will work our way through the four sections of the service, which the kabbalists viewed as a journey through the Four Worlds of human experience: ​ 1) Physical, embodied sensation and orientation (Assiyah) - the Morning Blessings and other opening prayers. 2) Our emotional lives (Yetzirah) - the Verses of Praise (Pesukei DeZimra). 3) Thoughts and intellect (Beriah) - the Shema and the blessings around it. 4) Spirituality and the life of our soul, our deepest self (Atzilut) - the Amidah, the silent standing prayer. DATES AND TIMES The group will meet on Sundays at 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern / 6pm UK / 8pm Israel and the relevant hours in your time zones. The group will begin on Sunday March 13 and run for ten sessions until Sunday May 22. Please note: For March 13 and March 20, US times for the session are an hour later as US clocks change 2 weeks before Israel and the UK. There is no session on April 17 as it's Pesach.