***Registration is still open***

Maimonides' Middle Way

The 'Eight Chapters' in theory and practice with Dr. Mira Niculescu

  • Started May 8
  • Online

What is this course?

This course seeks to engage the students experientially with the practical wisdom displayed in Maimonides’ Shmoneh Prakim (Eight Chapters), from text to practice. The Shmoneh Prakim was written as an introduction to the Pirkei Avot (Ethics of the Fathers), and it asks how we might work towards a middle path, so that we can achieve balance and serenity in our everyday lives. The aim of this course is for students to explore the Eight Chapters and begin to experience the transformative process taught by Maimonides. By weaving text study and practice, each session will invite the participants to experience the teachings directly so that they can integrate them within their daily lives today, both on an intellectual, emotional, ethical and spiritual level. Each class will include learning, discussion, meditation practice and sharing. To support their journey through this course, Students will be invited to match with a spiritual chavruta (partner) with whom they will share their practice throughout. The course will comprise eight classes corresponding to the eight chapters of the text. The course combines text study (all texts provided in Hebrew and English), guided practice and a forum for group processing and ongoing support. The content is appropriate for advanced students and novices alike. HOW DOES IT WORK? The course consists of eight recorded sessions, of 1 hours each. Each session includes studying primary texts as well as a guided practice to ground the learning in embodied experience. After each session, all course participants will receive the recording of the session. A WhatsApp group will be set up for course participants for sharing and discussion with the teacher and each other. DATES AND TIMES Sundays at 9am Pacific / 12pm Eastern / 5pm UK / 7pm Israel and the relevant hours in your time zones, for 1 hour each time. The course begins on May 8, skips June 5 for Shavuot, and ends on July 3. TESTIMONIALS "Having recently completed an online course with Mira about 'Maimonides' Middle Way', I can honestly say that I felt her deep subject knowledge, together with her experience as a meditation teacher wove together seamlessly to make the content relevant and accessible." Stephen Low "Working with Mira is truly a deep breath. Mira has helped me strengthen and deepen my connection and commitment to myself, my practice, and my spirituality." Naomi Davis,