***Registration is still open***

Seven Weeks Of Inner Growth

With R' Lauren Tuchman (7 sessions)

  • Started Apr 12
  • Online

What is this course?

Sefirat HaOmer – the counting of the Omer – is the annual practice of counting the forty-nine days and seven weeks of the Omer. The practice commences on the second evening of Pesach and concludes on the day before Shavuot. Over the centuries, these seven weeks have come to be associated with the lower seven Sefirot (qualities or gateways) of the Tree of Life. In this live online course with Rabbi Lauren Tuchman, we will explore together each of these seven Sefirot from a mindfulness and Mussar (self-development) perspective. Each of the seven Sefirot is also a Middah – a character or soul trait. Working on and through these soul traits can impact our internal lives, how we show up in the world externally and how we experience this time as building a bridge between the liberation of Pesach and the revelation of Shavuot. Our weekly sessions will be anchored by text study of each Sefirah/Middah, bringing both classical rabbinic and contemporary texts to bear on our understanding. We will engage in a continual journaling or cheshbon hanefesh (spiritual reflection) practice throughout the course as a way of noticing how our practice is showing up in our lives. We will also engage in meditative practice at the end of each session, to integrate what we are learning about each week's Sefirah/Middah into our moment-by-moment experience of being alive. The course will cover the following Sefirot/Middot: 1. Chesed – loving connection 2. Gevurah – the boundaried self 3. Tiferet – harmony 4. Netzach – resilience, cultivating inner strength 5. Hod: allowing for what is 6. Yesod – foundational connection 7. Malchut – highest self, becoming a vessel for the holy. All texts are provided in Hebrew and English translation. This course is open to novices and advanced learners of all backgrounds and orientations. HOW DOES IT WORK? The course consists of seven recorded sessions, of 1.25 hours each. Each session includes studying primary texts as well as a guided practice to ground the learning in embodied experience. After each session, all course participants will receive the recording of the session. A WhatsApp group will be set up for course participants for sharing and discussion with the teacher and each other. DATES AND TIMES The group will meet on Tuesdays at 9am Pacific / 12pm Eastern / 5pm UK / 7pm Israel and the relevant hours in your time zones, for 75 minutes each time. The course begins on April 12, skips April 19 for Pesach, and ends on May 31.