***Registration is still open***

Rebbe Nachman In Our Lives

Eight-session course with Sabrina Burger

  • Started Nov 20
  • Online

Available spots


What is this course?

Why is Rebbe Nachman, a spiritual teacher, mystic, and storyteller who lived over 200 years ago, considered by many to be the most modern of Chassidic masters? How do his teachings speak to the challenges in our modern lives? How do his stories add depth and existential meaning to our contemporary spiritual questions? We will use a variety of primary sources — Rebbe Nachman’s lessons, records of his conversations with students, and his stories — to introduce some of his core teachings and practices, while developing a sense of who Rebbe Nachman was as a leader and person. Learning with and from one another, we will unpack topics such as the dynamic process of growth, curiosity, and yearning; the value of not knowing; the power of joy and its relationship to hardship and sadness; the advice to “never be old” and, of course, his famous saying: “There is no such thing as despair”. All texts are provided in Hebrew and English translation. This course is open to novices and advanced learners of all backgrounds and orientations. HOW DOES IT WORK? The course consists of eight interactive online sessions, of approximately 1.25 hours. Each class includes two essential components: 1) A close text-based study of Rebbe Nachman's teachings and stories. 2) A guided meditative practice focusing on the particular theme studied in that class. Each participant will receive a printable source sheet in the original Hebrew with English translation. After each session, all course participants will receive the recording of the session. A WhatsApp group will be set up for sharing and discussion with the teacher and each other. DATES AND TIMES Sundays, November 20 – January 8 at 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern / 6pm UK / 8pm Israel, for 1.25 hours.