***Registration is still open***

Receiving the Torah Afresh Every Day

Eight-session course with Yiscah Smith

  • Started Jun 20
  • Online

What is this course?

This course follows Shavuot, the time of the giving of our Torah. And as every giver needs a receiver for the act to be complete, we now have the opportunity to cultivate the practice of continuously receiving the Torah, in a way that seeks to internalize the Divine’s teachings. The body of the Torah, the external dimension, conveys sacred laws and narratives, which inspire us and guide us how to behave. However, the soul of the Torah, the internal dimension, invites us to enter a different realm. Less the realm of knowledge and doing, and more the realm of being and experience. Cultivating receiving this inner Torah activates a consciousness beyond our intellect, whereby learning Torah becomes a personalized, unique and private encounter with the Divine. Who better to teach us how to hear this “still small voice” within than the Piaseczner Rebbe, Rabbi Kalonymus Kalmish Shapira, also known as the Aish Kodesh? In this course we will explore the spiritual practice of learning Torah as found throughout the Piaseczner’s seven books. The Piaseczner’s own experience of internalizing and spiritually being with Torah beckons anyone who is seeking a personal, emotional and spiritual experience when engaging with our sacred texts. Through textual learning and experiential practice, we will explore together how to train ourselves to become more sensitive and open to actively receive, opening up not only our minds but our hearts. ​All texts are provided with clear translations, and no prior knowledge or experience with the subject matter is necessary. This course is open to novices and advanced learners of all backgrounds and orientations. ​ HOW DOES IT WORK? The course consists of eight interactive online sessions, of approximately 1.25 hours. Each class includes two essential components:   1) A close text-based study of the Piaseczner’s teachings on Jewish spiritual growth. 2) A guided meditative practice focusing on the particular theme studied in that class and how that nurtures and cultivates the spirit of inner redemption, liberation and freedom.   Each participant will receive a printable source sheet in the original Hebrew with English translation. After each session, all course participants will receive the recording of the session. A WhatsApp group will be set up for sharing and discussion with the teacher and each other. DATES AND TIMES Mondays, June 20 - August 8, at 9am Pacific / 12pm Eastern / 5pm UK / 7pm Israel, for 1.25 hours.