***Registration is still open***

Spiritual Preparation for the New Year

Seven-session practice-based course with Rabbi Daniel Silverstein

  • Started Aug 17
  • Online

Available spots


What is this course?

As the New Year and the High Holidays begin to come into view, who are we hoping to become? What are the changes we hope to manifest in our own lives and in our world? Join Rabbi Daniel Silverstein and the AJS community for this opportunity to progress and deepen our processes of Teshuvah - returning to our best possible selves, and our Divine root. Together, we will learn heart-opening texts on the inner work of Teshuvah, and then engage in meditative practices based on these texts, including writing exercises and guided visualizations. As well as learning and practicing together, there will be space for intentional sharing, so as well as each learning from our own inner experience, we will be enriched by that of our fellow community members. The texts we will study will be drawn from the writings of Rabbi Abraham Isaac Kook, the great twentieth century mystic and poet. In particular, we will benefit from several powerful passages from Orot HaTeshuvah (Lights of Return), which is widely regarded as a masterpiece. ​All texts are provided with clear translations, and no prior knowledge or experience with the subject matter is necessary. This course is open to novices and advanced learners of all backgrounds and orientations. ​ Map of the seven sessions: 1) Orienting toward our highest, most authentic self 2) Working with will or desire (Ratson) 3) Working with challenging parts of ourselves 4) The daily work of yearning for and becoming our highest self 5) Rosh Hashanah - national, human and planetary Teshuvah 6) Yom Kippur - forgiving ourselves and others 7) Sukkot - the joy of embodying Teshuvah HOW DOES IT WORK? The course consists of seven interactive online sessions, of approximately 1.25 hours. Each session will consist of text study, guided meditative exercises, and time for reflection and sharing. Each participant will receive a printable source sheet in the original Hebrew with English translation. After each session, all course participants will receive the recording of the session. A WhatsApp group will be set up for sharing and discussion with the teacher and each other. DATES AND TIMES Wednesdays, August 17 - September 28, at 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern / 6pm UK / 8pm Israel, for 1.25 hours each session. All AJS classes are recorded, and the recordings are sent out for you to enjoy at your own convenience.