Tevet Mini-Retreat

With Rabbi Daniel Silverstein - 3 hours of online meditative practice, learning, and sharing

  • Starts Dec 26
  • Online

Available spots


What is this course?

As we enter the new moon of Tevet, we will gather together to learn about the spiritual opportunities and challenges of the month, to begin to practice with them, and to share our insights on this important new beginning. Together, we will explore some of the key ideas arising from this and other texts for our inner work during this month, and practice bringing these ideas into our bodies and into our lives. Our time together will be spent doing meditative practice, learning and discussing relevant texts, writing (or using whichever means of expression works for us) to process what is arising for us, and sharing some of this, if we feel so moved. Our learning about the themes of the month will be in service of our meditative practice and the processing exercises, which are designed to help us meet ourselves in new ways, and to move forward in our daily lives with new resources. In the Northern Hemisphere, Tevet is often a challenging month for those of us awaiting the coming of spring. The days are slowly lengthening, but it remains cold and overwhelmingly dark in many places. However, the fact that Chanukah extends to the first two days of this month gives us a hint about its challenge and opportunity - to each do our unique best to continue the illumination of Chanukah, even after the festival itself ends. We will explore how to do this together, and how it relates to the theme of the month according to Sefer Yetzirah (our oldest mystical text), which is dealing with the challenging emotion of anger. Our explorations will also include the related themes of patience, appreciation, and finding the hidden goodness in surprising places. WHEN IS IT? Monday, December 26 at 8am Pacific / 11am Eastern / 4pm UK / 6pm Israel, for 3 hours. The mini-retreat will be recorded, and all registrants will be sent the recording afterwards.