***Registration is still open***

Water Flowing through the Seasons

Eight-session course with Sarah Chandler

  • Started Jul 19
  • Online

Available spots


What is this course?

This course is for anyone interested in how ancient texts inform modern day rhythms of Jewish life. In this live online course with Shamirah, participants will explore how the Jewish calendar and our holiday cycle is built on the flow of water. Together, we will track the role of water throughout the Torah and how ancient Israelites’ relationship with water evolved to influence modern Jewish rituals. We will cover cycles of rain in the middle east, prayers for rain vs. dew, how water shows up in liturgy, embodied practices related to water, and more. Each week, we will explore: How can ritual-weaving support us in bridging the gap between our own lives and the ancient relationships with water of our spiritual ancestors? Map of the eight sessions: Part 1: Primordial Flow: Upper and Lower Waters - We will dive into the waters of creation and swim in the rivers and seas that flow between heaven and earth. Part 2: Water is Life: Living Waters as Purity - a dip into mikveh and laundry: How did the ancients define the role of water in our daily lives? Part 3: Nile sediment: Ground waters of Egypt - Unlike the land of Israel, the fertile soil of Egypt stays hydrated by the nutrient rich Nile waters. Part 4: Desert Survival: Dew, Moss, and Goats - Sun and rain, wind and clouds, flora and fauna. Part 5: "He lays down snow like fleece, scatters frost like ashes." (Psalms 147:16) - How can snow and flow of sap enliven us, even when winter is a chilly and often uncomfortable season? Part 6: Welcoming Dew - Praying for the tiny droplets of morning dew invites us to hold on to the "Dayenu" outlook of enough-ness. Part 7: First fruits (Bikkurim) - what is our relationship with abundance? Part 8: Fall, Sukkot and the Water Drawing Ceremony (Simchat Beit HaShoeva) All texts are provided in Hebrew and English translation. This course is open to novices and advanced learners of all backgrounds and orientations. HOW DOES IT WORK? The course consists of eight recorded sessions, of 1.25 hours each. Each session includes studying primary texts as well as a guided practice to ground the learning in embodied experience. After each session, all course participants will receive the recording of the session. A WhatsApp group will be set up for course participants for sharing and discussion with the teacher and each other. DATES AND TIMES Tuesdays, July 19 - September 6, at 9am Pacific / 12pm Eastern / 5pm UK / 7pm Israel, for 1.25 hours.